WIN and CAWA loyalists and partners held a 12th Anniversary Gala and Fundraiser at Delancy Street Town Hall in San Francisco on November 2nd, 2007

This multicultural celebration that mirrored WIN’s constituents and leadership honored revered social justice activists Yuri Kochiyama, Dr. Raye Richardson, Gracia Molina Pick and Dian J. Harrison with the 2007 Circle of Courage Award; re-acknowledged some of our founders and especially awarded our first Jedi Awards to Reggie Major, Jerry Flynn and Stephen Graves.

WIN’s successful efforts to bring women and girls into the global conversation through activism since 1995 was visibly and digitally displayed throughout the evening and will soon be available on our Website and on a DVD.

WIN was born in the Bay Area - two blocks from Haight/Ashbury - and has remained the base camp for the ‘organization that networks – not a network that organizes.’ For 12 years WIN and its million women network, the California Women's Agenda (CAWA) have been connecting women for collective action across the state, the country and around the world — from Arcata to Pixley, California; Missouri to Wyoming through US Women Connect; Uganda, Afghanistan, the Philippines, Japan and beyond.

Event Chair and MC Rose Aguilar referred to WIN12 as an opportunity “to ignite our spirit for the significant 2008 election year ahead.” So we took a break before the upcoming challenges of this new year and recharged with ethnic foods, music, dance, conversation, laughter and friendship with many of the women and supportive men who have partnered with WIN and CAWA over the years, and who believe in grassroots social change.
We want your history with us as part of our DVD and archive. We are setting up our website for you to do that. If you weren’t with us at the WIN12 gathering, we look forward to crossing paths with you soon.

View our Invitation, Registration, and Sponsor information

These women & men who believe in grassroots social change, supported and celebrated with us...

Our Sponsors
AT&T California, Lucky’s Market, Comerica, Sloat Nursery Gardens, Communique, Phuket Beer USA, Magnificent Gifts, Roxie Market & Deli
Irish Food (Sunset), Kiyomura-Ishimoto Assoc., Le Cheval,
Wizard Winery, Survival Skills Ed & Development Abacus,
Jean Shinoda Bolen

Table Hosts
Marcus Books
Planned Parenthood Golden Gate

Jean Shinoda Bolen
Carol Norberg

Roma Guy

Chris Fowler

Co-Sponsoring Organizations
Human Rights Advocates
Black Women for Wellness
California NOW
Pacific Asian American Women
Planned Parenthood Golden Gate

Organization Partners
Black Women Stirring the Waters
SUSCOL Intertribal Council
Gather the Women
CA Commission on the Status of Women
Persian American Women’s Alliance
San Francisco Commission on the Status of Women
Afghan Women’s Association International
Women of Vision & Action
Bay Area Business Women
The Cardea Project
Santa Clara County Office of Women’s Advocacy
Santa Cruz Commission on the Status of Women
Coalition of Women from Asia & the Middle East

Circle of Courage Awardees:
Dian J. Harrison
Yuri Kochiyama
Gracia Molina Pick
Dr. Raye Richardson

Jedi Awardees:
Stephen C Graves, CPA
Jerry Flynn, AT&T California
Reggie Major, Author, Journalist
Thanks to all the other men of goodwill who support gender equality and justice for all.

And thanks to the many committed activists on the ground in CA. We especially acknowledge our founders:

Dee Aker Judy Kramer
Judith Bloom Lili Li Lo Lim
Kathleen Cha Charleen Maghzi
Patti Chang Jene McCovey
Elida Chavez Linda Milks
Madeline Duckles Sandra Pounder
Marilyn Fowler Tam Stevenson
Ana Maria Uribe Guevara Charlie Toledo
Aileen C. Hernandez Julianne Cartwright Traylor
Anne Hoiberg Helen Young

Past Circle of Courage Awardees:
Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi
Senator Barbara Boxer
Congresswoman Barbara Lee
Aileen C Hernandez
Billie Heller
Charlie Toledo
Olivia Puentes-Reynolds

Honorary Host Commitee:
Senator Barbara Boxer
Congresswoman Barbara Lee
Congresswman Zoe Lofgren
Congressman Tom Lantos
Congressman Mike Honda
Congresswoman Nancy Pelosi
Congresswoman Lynn Woolsey
Secretary of State Debra Bowen
Assemblyman Mark Leno
Assemblywoman Sally Lieber
Assembly Woman Fiona Ma
Senator Sheila Kuehl
Senator Carole Migden
Heather Fong, Chief of Police
Supervisor Tom Ammiano
Supervisor Sophie Maxwell
Supervisor Ross Mirkarimi

Host Committee:
Event Committee Chair: Rose Aguilar
Elahe Amani, Chair, WIN
Dian Harrison, Former Chair, WIN
Aileen C. Hernandez, CAWA Chair
Charlie Toledo, Former Chair, WIN
Linda Thurston, Ph.D, Founding Chair, WIN

Jeff G. Adachi Roma Guy
Elmy Bermejo Anne Hoiberg
Jean Shinoda Bolen Norma Hotaling
Chris Fowler Karuna Jagger
Jay Manahan Anna Marks
Sonia Melara Carolene Marks
Marily Mondejar Jean McCovey
Carol & Mark Norberg Marcia McLean
Tomas Roman Emily Murase
Judy Bloom Marilyn Nyborg
Joan Conley Pat Obuchowski
Kathleen Cha Lata Patil
Sheila Delany Olivia Puentes-Reynolds
Madeline Duckles Redwood Mary
Cecilia Fargo Tam Stevenson
Jan Flint Julianne Traylor
Mimi Formosa Beryl Wainwright
Diana Goodrow Tonya Williams
Jovida Guevara-Ross  

Event Committee:
Rose Aguilar, Chair
Elahe Amani
Sarah Cashman
Kathleen Cha
Jan Robinson Flint
Norbese Flint
Chris Fowler
Marilyn Fowler
Veronica Gomez
Roma Guy
Aileen Hernandez
Harriet Ishimoto
Deanna Jones
Molly Klett
Thuy Linh
Karen Lodrick
Jay Manahan
Sandra Pounder
Sujata Shrivastav
Charlie Toledo
Ross Uchimura
Gareth Wallis
Beryl Wainwright

WIN Founders:
Roma Guy
Shiela Delany
Charlie Toledo
Jeanne Marie Besanceney
Olivia Puentes Reynolds

WIN Board of Directors:
Elahe Amani, Chair
Jan Robinson Flint, Treasurer
Rose Aguilar, Secretary
Marilyn Fowler, Pres/CEO
Veronica Gomez Rayas
Rita Guzman
Irene Lu
Jene McCovey
Dian J. Harrison
Harriet Ishimoto
Carlynne McDonnell
Hon. Annette Mukabera
Sujata Shrivastav
Charlie Toledo
Ileana Winterhalter

by Sarah Cashman, 10/12/07







- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -